Healthy Snacks on the Go

As a teacher, eating healthy can be a challenge! I start my day at 5am and don’t come home until 4pm, which by then I’m STARVING and want food NOW. Often times I’m so busy herding cats, I mean teaching children, that I don’t get a break to eat until it’s been well over 6 hours since I ate breakfast. This is the same for any job and it can be so easy to grab the first thing you can get your hands on when in a rush to eat. I’m always in search of healthy AND delicious snacks I can eat on the go. I don’t want to compromise my health for simple and tasty (I’m talking to you bag of chips) but sometimes finding healthy snacks that don’t cost an arm and a leg can be so hard.  I want to share my top 5 favorite and inexpensive healthy snacks with you that not only fuel your body but are also easy to eat in a pinch.

1. Kirkland Signature Protein Bars aka the Quest Bar Knock Off

If you are a fan of protein bars that aren’t loaded with sugar, have 20+ grams of protein, and don’t taste like crap, then I am about to change your life. Not only are these way cheaper than Quest bars (you can buy a box of 20 and each bar calculates out to be about 90 cents each) but they actually taste BETTER in my opinion. The box of 20 bars (purchase at your local Costco) comes with two flavors, Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough and Chocolate Brownie. These are so good sometimes I will eat them as a dessert after dinner, no shame. They keep me full and taste delicious, what more could a girl ask for? Click on the link below to purchase as well as to see the nutrition facts and ingredients. If you buy them online you have to buy a pack of 2 boxes (40 bars) for $45.00 but in stores you can purchase one individual box for 17.99. 

Kirkland Signature Protein Bar Chocolate Brownie & Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough

2. LesserEvil Buddha Bowl Popcorn

If you’re a sucker for popcorn like me, then you’re sure to love Buddha Bowl Himalayan Pink Popcorn. This popcorn is made with organic coconut oil and pink Himalayan salt. It gives it the most delicious coconut-y flavor and has just the right amount of saltiness. This snack tastes AMAZING and with just 4 grams of fat per 3 cups, it’s filling but you feel good after eating it. The link below will take you to the LesserEvil website where you can purchase the popcorn in bulk. I actually just bought 3 bags of it at Grocery Outlet for an absolute steal so if you hurry they might still have it available 🙂  

Buddha Bowl Himalayan Pink Popcorn

3. Kodiak Cakes Power Cakes Protein Packed Flapjack and Waffle Mix 

These delicious little numbers have become a staple in the Helm household. Even Luke asks for them and that’s how you know they are good! He will eat healthy but hates when food tastes “healthy” and he has no idea these are good for him (made with whole grains) and are packed with 15 grams of protein per serving! Add a little peanut butter and you’ve got a complete snack full of protein, complex carbs, and healthy fats. I make a pancake with 1/4 cup mix, 1/4 cup water, spread 1 TB of peanut butter on it, and fold it in half. I can stick it in a baggie, take it to work, and eat it as a little pancake burrito snack in less than a minute while my students aren’t even looking 😉 The link below will lead you to Amazon where I bought 6 boxes for a great deal and have already made it through 2 1/2 of them between Luke and I in the past 2 weeks. Like I said, they have become a staple. 

Kodiak Cakes Power Cakes Protein Packed Flapjack and Waffle mix

4. Hard Boiled Eggs 

Hard boiled eggs are the perfect healthy snack because they are a whole food, not processed at all, contain protein and a little bit of fat to help keep you full, and can be eaten easily on the go. To save money buy a dozen and hard boil half at a time to keep in the fridge for an easy on the go snack. Or if you’re really going for easy buy them pre-hard boiled AND peeled at the grocery store. I buy mine at Walmart (6 per bag) for a little under 5 bucks/bag.

Eggland’s Best Hard Cooked Peeled Eggs

5. Justin’s Almond Butter Single-Serve Squeeze Packs

Oh my goodness. I saved the best for last. Truly, these are AH-MAZING. If you love Almond Butter or any kind of nut butter for that matter than you are in luck. These single-serving on the go nut butter packs are to die for. The Justin’s Almond Butter squeeze packs come in many delicious flavors including vanilla, maple, and honey. Also, if you’re not feelin almond butter you can try the chocolate hazelnut squeeze pack or the classic peanut butter squeeze pack. The best part, they only cost $1.15 per pack. They even have almond butter with pretzels and peanut butter with banana chips packs.  Don’t take it from me, go to the store and try these now. You can thank me later. 

Justin’s Almond Butter Squeeze Packs

3 thoughts on “Healthy Snacks on the Go

Add yours

  1. I still say donuts are good for you. Studies have shown that happy people live longer. Donuts make people happy. So donuts are good for you. Seriously, unlike Top Pots, those are healthy snacks. For us calorie counters, the calorie count for each snack would be good info.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

