Healthy Breakfast in a Pinch

Mornings are busy! When eating healthy, it can be a challenge to fuel our bodies correctly while simultaneously rushing to get a million things ready for the day and out the door on time. BUT it is so important because as we’ve all heard, breakfast is the most important meal of the day! For those who are struggling to find quick and healthy breakfast options without sacrificing taste or quality nutrients, fear not, I have 6 delicious recipes coming your way.

For some people, like my husband, eating a hearty meal first thing in the morning just isn’t going to happen. Luke is not a breakfast person and doesn’t have much of an appetite in the morning. Now me on the other hand… it would throw my whole day off if all I got to eat was a wimpy cereal bar before I head out the door. Breakfast is my FAVORITE meal of the day, and also the meal where I eat the most food. Dinner, on the other hand, I tend to eat like a bird. We are all different with different needs and that is totally okay! As long as you are eating something nutritious to fuel the start of your day, you’re doing it right.

I’m going to share three hearty breakfast ideas and three light breakfast options, to fit the needs of all my lovely readers. The beauty of these recipes is all of them can be made in 5 minutes or less, AND they are all healthy. When I say “hearty” I mean more calories for those who need more sustenance in the morning, but not any less nutritious than the “light” breakfast options. Each meal will have the calories and macronutrients posted below so you will know exactly what you are putting into your body.

Now I have a few tools in the kitchen that help me make these meals as quickly as possible (5 minutes or less). I used to eat cereal or something not so healthy for breakfast in the morning but I have come to LOVE and CRAVE a hearty AND healthy breakfast so having tools in the kitchen that can help set you up for success are crucial.

Tools I use on the regular:

-Nutribullet (any type of blender will work if you don’t have a Nutribullet but these things are AMAZEballs and are such easy cleanup!)

-egg poacher like this one

Now without further ado, the breakfast recipes! 🙂

Hearty breakfast options (300-400 calorie range)

Meal Option 1 🙂

Peanut Butter Protein Pancake, Egg Whites, and a Green smoothie

17155664_1390589237630129_984782468009490257_n

(375 calories: 58 carbs, 3.8g fat, 36g protein)

Ingredients:

For the waffle:

-1/3 cup Kodiak protein packed pancake/waffle mix (127 calories: 20g carb, 1g fat, 14g protein)

-1/3 cup water (0 calories)

For the egg whites:

-1/2 cup egg whites (63 calories: 1g carb, 13 g protein, .2g fat) (any brand will work just fine; I use the Kirkland Signature brand of egg whites from Costco)

-2 TB organic PBfit (powdered peanut butter that mixes into a peanut butter spread) to spread on pancake/waffle (50 calories: 4g carb, 1.5g fat, 6g protein)

-1 1/2 TB water to mix with the powdered peanut butter (0 calories)

For the green smoothie

-2 cups spinach (or more… 🙂 I PACK my smoothies with loads of spinach) (14 cal: 2.2g carbs, .2g fat, 1.7g protein)

-½ cup frozen blueberries (40 cal: 10.5g carb, .2g fat, .5g protein)

-½ frozen banana (55 cal: 14g carb, .2g fat, .5g protein)

-½ cup trop50 orange juice (25 cal: 6.5g carb, 0g fat, 0g protein)

-1/2 cup water (o calories)

How I make it:

First, I turn on the burner and whip out my small 8 inch frying pan. Next, I pour ½ cup egg whites into my egg poacher and pop it in the microwave for a minute and 15 seconds. While the eggs are exploding violently in the poacher (you’ll see what I mean when you try it :)), I mix together 1/3 cup Kodiak cake protein pancake/waffle mix with 1/3 cup water, spray my frying pan with some good ol unhealthy pam (sorry I don’t use coconut oil cooking spray), and pour the batter into the frying pan for a perfect individually sized fluffy protein-packed pancake. While that is cooking, I throw all the ingredients for my green smoothie into my Nutribullet cup, screw on the lid, pop it into the machine, give it a whirl for about 10 seconds, pop it out, screw off the lid, and bam your smoothie is ready to go in it’s drinkable cup. (this is why I LOVE my Nutribullet. It’s SO easy). Next, I flip my pancake, take my eggs out of the microwave and fork them onto my plate. While my pancake is finishing up, I measure 2TB of PBfit powdered peanut butter, mix it with 1 1/2 TB cold water in the same ½ cup measuring cup I used for the eggs (I rinse it out of course), then scoop my pancake off the frying pan and onto my plate and spread the peanut butter on. Now I grab my plate with my peanut butter pancake and eggs, my smoothie, and a fork for my food, and sit down to eat the delicious, healthy, hearty meal that appeared before my eyes in less than 5 minutes 🙂

Meal Option 2 🙂

Chocolate Peanut Butter Banana Protein Shake

17264272_1390633250959061_2523035206517836052_n

(375 calories: 31g carb, 10g fat, 43.5g protein)

Ingredients:

-2 scoops EAS chocolate protein powder (use whatever protein powder you want) (150 calories: 7g carb, 2g fat, 26g protein)

-1 TB Kirkland signature natural peanut butter from Costco (95 calories: 3.5g carb, 8g fat, 4g protein)

-1 cup fairlife skim milk (80 calories: 6g carb, 0g fat, 13g protein [and only 6g sugar J)

-1/2 frozen banana (55 calories: 14.5g carb, 0g fat, .5g protein)

How I make it:

Combine all ingredients into Nutribullet cup, screw on lid, pop it into the machine, 10 seconds later you have a delicious, creamy, chocolate peanut butter protein shake that tastes SO good  you won’t even know it’s good for you 🙂

Meal Option 3 🙂

Vanilla Blueberry Oatmeal Bowl 

17264685_1390633184292401_3286228269760405574_n

(355 calories: 49 carbs, 7.2g fat, 25.2 grams protein, 11.7g fiber)

Ingredients:

-1/3 cup Purely Elizabeth Ancient Grain Original oatmeal (160 calories: 25g carb, 4g fat, 7g protein)

-2/3 cup Fairlife skim milk (53 calories: 4g carb, 0g fat, 8.7g protein)

-1/2 cup blueberries (40 cal:10.5g carb, .2g fat, .5g protein)

-1/2 container Danon Light and Fit Greek Yogurt (40 cal: 4.5g carb, 0g fat, 6g protein)

-1 tbsp chia seeds (optional: for an extra punch of protein, fiber, and omega 3’s ) (60 cal: 5g carb, 3g fat, 3g protein, 5g fiber)

How I make it:

First, add 1/3 cup Purely Elizabeth oatmeal, 2/3 cup Fairlife skim milk, and 1 TBSP chia seeds (optional), stir, and microwave for about 1 minute until nice and steamy. The chia seeds expand with liquid over time and will make your oatmeal even thicker. Next add ½ cup blueberries (if using frozen blueberries and you want them warm, add to the bowl before popping into the microwave) and dallop your stirred creamy greek yogurt on top of the oatmeal. Mmmmhmmm delish 🙂

Light breakfast options (150-300 calorie range)

Meal Option 1 🙂

Avocado Egg Toast

17202864_1390633187625734_4928780346037378848_n17308732_1390633194292400_290029324257637156_n

(248 calories: 26g carb, 13g fat, 11g protein)

Ingredients:

-1 orowheat sandwich thin toasted (100 calories: 21g carb, 1g fat, 4g protein)

-1/3 avacado (78 calories: 4g carb, 7g fat, 1g protein)

-1 large egg poached or baked (I used my microwave poacher again to save time) (70 calories: 1g carb, 5g fat, 6g protein)

How I make it:

First, I pop my sandwich thin, split in half, into the toaster. While my bread is toasting, I crack 1 egg into my egg poacher and microwave it for about a minute. Once my egg is done, I take it out of the microwave and wait for my toast. When my toast is golden brown around the edges (doesn’t take long for a sandwich thin to toast) I put my poached egg on one slice of bread and spread my 1/3 avocado onto the other slice of bread. Then I put the two halves together, sprinkle a smidge of salt if I’m feeling it that day, and dig in 🙂

 Meal Option 2 🙂

Cinnamon Roll Oatmeal

17264991_1390633150959071_823577013384868786_n

(225 calories: 33g carb, 4.1g fat, 15.9g protein)

Ingredients:

-1/3 cup Purely Elizabeth Ancient Grain Oatmeal (or any type of rolled oats is perfectly fine) (160 calories: 25g carb, 4g fat, 7g protein)

-2/3 cup fairlife skim milk (53 calories: 4g carb, 0g fat, 8.7g protein)

-1/2 tsp cinnamon (I LOVE cinnamon so I load it up; use less if desired) (4g carb, 0.1g fat, 0.2g protein)                                                           

-2 packets stevia= about ½ tsp (stevia can leave a strong taste which some people don’t prefer… use brown sugar/cane sugar/coconut palm sugar/sweetener of choice if not a fan of stevia) (stevia: 0 calories)

(optional: add chopped walnuts… SO delish and adds an extra punch of healthy fats to keep you full)

How I make it: 

Combine all ingredients into a bowl, stir well, and microwave for 1-2 minutes. My microwave is super powerful so for all of my oatmeal recipes I only microwave for a minute, but you may find closer to 2 minutes works better for you. If you are adding walnuts (I suggest 1/4 cup chopped) sprinkle them on after microwaving your oatmeal. They add a wonderful texture to the cinnamon roll oatmeal and are one of the healthiest nut options you can eat. Enjoy! 🙂

Meal Option 3 🙂

Tropical Smoothie Bowl

17309591_1390633190959067_3946131484904361880_n

(226 calories: 52.9g carbs, 1.6g fat, 4g protein)

For the smoothie bowl:

 -2 cups spinach (14 calories: 2g carb, .2g fat, 1.7g protein)

-1/3 cup Trop50 orange juice (17 calories: 4.3g carb, 0g fat, 0g protein)

-1/2 frozen banana (55 calories: 14.5g carb, 0g fat, .5g protein)

-1/4 cup cold filtered water (o calories)

-1 ice cube (0 calories)

 For the toppings:

 -1/3 cup mango (33 calories: 8.2g carb, 0.2g fat, .5g protein)

-1/3 cup blueberries (28 calories: 7g carb, 0.2g fat, 0.4g protein)

-2 pineapple rings (can use tidbits or whatever you prefer) (60 calories: 15g carb, 0g fat, 0g protein)

-1 tsp chia seeds (20 calories: 1.7g carb, 1g fat, 1g protein)

 (optional: add granola, coconut shavings, greek yogurt, agave nectar, cacao nibs, etc. I just use whatever I have in my freezer/pantry at the time :))

How I make it:

First, I blend all the smoothie bowl ingredients in my Nutribullet, then pour the mixture into a bowl. Next I line my bowl with a row of each topping, to make it pretty of course ;), then either mix it up and dig in or dig in one row at a time to enjoy each individual flavor.

Note: The chia seeds will expand the longer they soak in the smoothie bowl, so if you want a thicker texture for the smoothie, stir the chia seeds into the smoothie bowl and wait a few minutes.

Thanks so much for reading and I hope you now have a fresh outlook on breakfast and simple, delicious, and nutritious recipes to try. If you try a recipe and love it, let me know in the comments which one is your favorite or if you have any suggestions to make the recipes even better. Happy eating! 🙂

XO,

Meredith

2 thoughts on “Healthy Breakfast in a Pinch

Add yours

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

