EASIEST Crockpot Enchilada Soup

Oh the good ‘ol crockpot. I remember in 5th grade, my best friend Katie and I used to joke about how our friends were so lucky because they got to eat out at delicious restaurants with their families for dinner, while we would go home to our mom’s crockpot stew for the 5th time that week. First off, this wasn’t actually true. My mom cooked a variety of amazing meals and I was actually the spoiled one getting home cooked meals every evening, I just was too young and ungrateful to realize it. Second, crockpots are life.

Seriously though. Crockpots are a saving grace when you have had an exhausting day and don’t feel like cooking for hours in the evening. Now that I’m a married woman, I understand what my 5th grade naïve mind didn’t. Crockpots are time saving and produce delicious hot and ready to go meals. AKA crockpots=winning.

For example, this delicious enchilada soup I’m about to share with you took max 5 minutes to throw the ingredients into my crockpot and out the door I went. Flash forward 8 hours… I walk in the front door after a long day to a delicious aroma filling our kitchen and a dinner hot and ready to serve. It’s almost too good to be true.

This soup can be altered to whatever ingredients you prefer. If you are a vegetarian, omit the chicken and substitute it with 1 cup quinoa. You can also make your own enchilada sauce if you don’t want to use a canned version. There are many recipes out there for enchilada soup, and just like I did with this recipe, you can customize it to fit your diet needs, taste preference, and caloric desires.

I didn’t use any garlic or onion in this recipe because I personally can’t tolerate them and have to find other options to substitute without sacrificing flavor. I tried a few seasonings we already had in our cupboard and the flavor was delicious. If you can tolerate garlic and onion, feel free to add it in or substitute for some of the seasonings I used.

This isn’t an all-organic made from scratch meal, but it is tasty, healthy-ish :), and just 1 cup will fill you up! The kindergarten teacher in me is coming out… rhymes for days 😉

Ingredients:

  • 3 cups low sodium chicken broth
  • One 15oz can red mild or medium Enchilada sauce (depending on spice preference)
  • One 14.5 oz can organic fire roasted tomatoes
  • One 15 oz can organic sweet corn (drained)
  • One 15 oz can low sodium black beans (drained)
  • 1 can mild diced green chiles
  • 1 lb chicken breast, defrosted
  • Parsley*
  • Chipotle Pepper seasoning*
  • Chili Powder*
  • Oregano*
  • 1 cup quinoa (optional for an added punch of healthy protein packed whole grains)
  • Mexican Cheese Blend (I just sprinkled a small amount on top)
  • Milton’s Gluten Free Sea Salt crackers (to crush and sprinkle on top)

*I eyeball my seasonings so I don’t have an exact measurement amount. I’d say aim for ½-1 tsp for each seasoning. Add more if needed.

Directions:

Add all ingredients besides cheese and crushed crackers into the crockpot and set on low for 8 hours or high for 4-6 hours. After the time is up, use a fork to shred the chicken (it will come apart extremely easily), give the soup a good stir, serve, and top with cheese and crushed Milton’s sea salt gluten free crackers (or corn tortilla chips) if desired. Enjoy! 🙂

3 thoughts on “EASIEST Crockpot Enchilada Soup

Add yours

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

